Who’s Bad

So how are you enjoying the weather? some people are loving it, and others not so much as you do tend to hear  sayings such as”it’s too hot” and ” ooh I like the sun but it’s a different kind of heat, not like aboard”
So as Yvonne Donald I adore the sunshine, sitting out in it and relaxing, everyone’s mood is lifted, and generally there’s an overall feeling of well being with some good summery vibes.
But as Kake and Cupkakery me and the hot weather don’t care much for each other and one word tends to send a shiver down my spine that word is “HEATWAVE”
Now if your a cake decorator you will totally understand where I’m heading with this, buttercream melts, kitchen too hot, sugarpaste wilting it’s  generally real kitchen nightmares, and if your not a cake decorator well let me tell you the tale of the Devil Cake.
Every cake decorator has from time to,time a devil cake, that one cake that just doesn’t want to play.
So I’m working on two cakes for delivery one weekend, a Chanel shopper and the other a round cake with a Michael Jackson theme, simples right.
The chanel shopper is decorated with sugarpaste panels, stencil work, and is 3D, not too tricky but overall was baked and decorated in three days.
The second cake was having a cut out silhouette on top of a basic covering of sugarpaste again straight forward ( you’d think)
So I began decorating the cake after making a delivery of the chanel cake. it’s was chilling with a crumb coat in the fridge ready for the icing, so far so good. Then the cake drama began. I removed it from the fridge,covered it with sugarpaste, smoothed it and then they began to appear, air bubbles all over the place.
Usually you can remove an air bubble by placing a sterile pin into the air bubble and gently start easing the air out of the hole, but oh no the devil cake wasn’t having it, so more appeared and before you know it the cake resembled the surface of the moon, so off with the icing and start again.
Deep breaths in we go, redo crumb coat, chill and get ready to recover it with sugarpaste, but again the devil cake doesn’t want to play, this time the icing was softer than Mr whippy ice cream, air bubbles start reappearing again, arghhhhh stop it. So off with the icing (again)
I then decide enough is enough, I carefully put down the knife I mean palette knife, slowly re cover the buttercream in the bowl and decided to retire for the night to the land of slumber before I did something I would regret to the cake.
So new day, new start, I’m poised and ready and now working against the clock, cake is due for delivery in 5 hours, the silhouette, letters and musical notes are dried out and ready to apply to the cake, if they could talk they would be screaming “come on do it already”
So the Cake sits there and looks harmless enough, so I roll and apply more paste and then remove and throw in the bin, it doesn’t want to cooperate, so I mumbled calmly to myself and the cake “come on play nicely someone is waiting for you”
another deep breath and with the last kilo of icing left ( no pressure) I reapply the icing, and if by magic Ta dah I did it, it was like covering my very first cake, a great sense of achievement came over me.
I did the Michael Jackson moonwalk across the kitchen, well more like a shuffle, while humming “who’s bad” the cake is nearly done, no time for error. I speed though and got the cake finished under an hour and a half, woo hoo.
I take a pic, box it up and leave it alone, and hope that
1. no cupboards fall off the wall and squash it
2. no freak earth tremors happen to shake it off the counter top onto the floor
such was my anxiety of getting this cake to the customer.
I delivered it, the customer loved it my work here was done.
So when it’s hot spare a thought to all those cake decorators working with stuff that melts who get a cake to you looking perfect cause believe me it ain’t easy.
20140730-230105-82865091.jpg<br / 20140730-230906-83346033.jpg

One thought on “Who’s Bad

Leave a Reply

