On the Road

 Since I’m still juggling my two worlds of working as an events and hospitality manager and being a part time Cake entrepreneur my time is so precious that I don’t always get the most amount of time to do the things I like to do.

So I have to sneak as much into a day as I can, i.e go to the gym before work, (not always successful in this) catch up on a good book by reading in the bath, dance salsa at the weekends instead of weekdays (you get the picture)
And because my business operates from home I seem to spend as much time delivering cakes as I do baking and decorating them

For example One Christmas it was the only time I got to sit down (true story)

So I like to deliver my cake orders as opposed to have them collected because I like to think it’s a nice bit of customer service to deliver a cake even though at times it can be time consuming .

One day I will actually get round to outsourcing my deliveries but you know what it’s like handing over a decorated cake for someone else to deliver it’s just not that easy to say goodbye.

So since i can spend a bit of time  on the road i need to make it enjoyable and one of the things I like to do is indulge in listening to a podcast. It’s a bit of a distraction from cakes plus I love listening to interesting content.
I actually feel like I’m a podcast geek and sing their praises to all that will listen.

I love them cause they are free to listen to,you can download them on to your fancy phone or device, you get to subscribe so you’ll never miss an episode ,seriously what’s not to love. Strangely though I cannot find many cakey related ones, (if you know of any let me know) I did actually think about creating one myself but Sadly I just don’t have the time, so feel free to share your recommendations with me at the end of this post or if you decide to start a cakey podcast.


So my love affair with podcast really began with listening to Serial, its based on a true story that unfolds week by week. I caught it a few weeks after it began broadcasting so I was able to catch up in real time, I won’t disclose to much about the story line but its well worth a listen and quite addictive.

Below are a few more podcast I like to listen to.

This American life is from the same people who created Serial and is a public radio show that has over 2 million listening in, its usually one theme and the stories told are based around that theme
  #AskGaryVee is my latest obsession, tweet him a question about marketing, social media and entrepreneurship and if he likes it he will answer them on his Showwwwww but he is full on and a bit loud but i like his energy and what he has to say.

Big me up Media is another newbie podcast that i have begun subscribing to and I also follow Yvonne Radley on Facebook, her, podcast are based around gaining more clients for your business


If you like scary tales you will enjoy Lore, Aaron Mahnke is an author who uncovers the history behind spooky happenings and stories.


Criminal is an interesting one as its not about in your face crime but rather stories of people who have been in the wrong place at the wrong time, have been wronged or done wrong


Ted Talks is the most eclectic mix of speakers you could ever get to listen too, i have listened to podcast on sleep, on sampling with Mark Ronson, being creative, whatever your into there is a ted talk that appeals to you


Food 52 present a podcast called Burnt toast, (follow their instagram you will drool) they talk about all things relating to food culture, cooking and foodie debate.

Its certainly an eclectic mix but when you’re driving and don’t fancy listening to the radio a podcast can be good company.

So do you listen to any podcast? If so feel free to share your latest finds.

2 thoughts on “On the Road

Leave a Reply

