Meet the baker- Kake and Cupkakery

So how are you?? It’s been ages since I have written a post, in fact I’ve missed my blogging but I took sometime out as it felt like I needed to have sometime for myself and enjoy the summer for a change.

I used my downtime to reconnect with myself as life is so hectic and I wanted to focus on life in general as it’s easy to get lost in the day to day hectic activity of life/cake/business.

So it was back to Reading, listening to music, days out, meals out, prosecco, podcast, spa days catching up with friends and family and spending time with my baby nephew who is (10 weeks today)  

I took 2 complete weeks with absolutely no baking to simply be and it was fabulous, the break was definitely needed but now it’s back to work and blogging

So just before September I tweaked the font on my logo for something a little softer, I always love my logo designs but every so often my intuition always tells me when it’s time for a tweak, so I decided to get my tweak done by Jade from the Cupcake Company http://www.thecupcakeco.co.uk/ I have seen her lovely work popping up on social media mainly on facebook so I decided to commission jade to work her magic with a revised font.

https://www.facebook.com/TheCupcakeCompany1/


She also makes some seriously pretty merchandise alongside logo design and brand design which is aimed at the small business owner. So if you ever receive a parcel from jade you will see that she sends her merchandise out in some of the prettiest packaging I have seen.
Also in September I went to the food exchange event organized by Enterprise  nation  https://www.enterprisenation.com/ and if you ever get chance to go to one I would throughly recommend it. It is a highly inspirational day with some fantastic speakers and i came away with great advice and ideas. It’s not specific to the cake industry as it’s aimed at food producers in general but you can learn a lot by looking at other industries and an added bonus this year was that it was in my home town Birmingham at the Millenium point so no traveling to London on this occasion.


September was also the month for National Cupcake week. I didn’t  enter this year but that didn’t stop me celebrating with a flash giveaway on my facebook page. 

Something that made my year was to be featured in the Birmingham evening mail as one of the best places to buy cupcakes in Birmingham. Within 1 week this had helped boost my business, my google ranking (I moved up to page 2/3) and more importantly increased orders and Brand awareness  

http://www.birminghammail.co.uk/whats-on/food-drink-news/best-places-buy-cupcakes-birmingham-10035521  

I’m very proud of myself and my business in making this list as I’m in great company and also Birmingham is my home town so was very special.

I also made a couple wedding cakes too, which if you have read my previous blogs making wedding cakes is an area I need to actively begin promoting in as my core market is celebration cakes and cupcakes.

I loved these commissions as they were quirky and followed very specific themes.

The cake below was for two of my friends so making there wedding cake was very special.

So summer is well and truly over,Orders are coming in but now all roads lead to Christmas so need to get creating this years collection.

Also bringing back the #MeetTheBakerFeature so if your interested in taking part get in touch by emailing hello@kakeandcupkakery.co.uk

Leave a Reply

