The lipstick effect

I have briefly spoke about the lipstick effect before in a previous post but as we head into another recession (UK) i think it will be making a resurgence.

The Lipstick effect is basically in the time of an economic downturn consumers like to treat themselves to an affordable luxury/treat and in the last recession in 2008/2009 it was the sales of lipstick that were on the increase.

In my business (kake and cupkakery) l have a monthly promotion called sit back kick back cupkakery cupcake Friday #SBKB for short. This is a small themed treat box that is my lipstick effect. I create them to be an affordable treat for my customers to enjoy over the weekend, and with the cost of living crisis l price them to be under £20.00 where possible so l have to be very savvy in what i produce.

I talk about this more in my new podcast which you can listen to on Spotify and amazon music which i have launched to accompany my blog,

The podcast has been a longtime coming I’ve wanted to be a guest on one for years but this year l needed to make it happen, I’m a novice and learning as i go but i hope you enjoy the listen.

I’ve always been an avid listener and in an earlier post i even wrote about all my fave shows which i need to update .

Anyhowwww future episodes will air once a month with a bonus episode here and there and will be a combination of solo episodes and guest interviews which I’m excited about.

I hope that my podcast will become your audible baking companion.

Leave a comment